Classification of pensions–Pensions are divided into the following four classes, namely :

  • Superannuation Pension
  • Retiring Pension
  • Voluntary Retirement
  • Invalid Pension
  • Compensation Pension
  • Compulsory Retirement Pension
  • Compassionate Allowance
  • Extraordinary Pension
  • Family Pension

Superannuation Pension

A superannuation pension shall be granted to a Government Servant who is retired on his attaining the age of superannuation.

Retiring Pension

A retiring pension shall be granted to a Government servant who retires, or is retired before attaining the age of Superannuation or to a Government servant who, on being declared surplus opts, for voluntary retirement.

Voluntary Retirement

Any Government servant can apply for voluntary retirement, three months in advance, only after the completion of twenty years of his qualifying service, provided there is no vigilance or Departmental Enquiry pending/initiated against him/her.

Invalid Pension

Invalid pension maybe granted if a Government servant applies for retirement from the service on account of any bodily or mental infirmity which permanently incapacitates him/her for the service. The request for invalid pension has to be supported by medical report from the competent medical board.

Compensation Pension

If a Government servant is selected for discharge owing to the abolition of a permanent post, he shall, unless he is appointed to another post the conditions of which are deemed by the authority competent to discharge him/her to be atleast equal to those of his own, have the option.

  • of taking any compensation pension or gratuity to which he may be entitled for service he has rendered, or
  • of accepting another appointment on such pay as may be offered and  continuing to count his previous service for pension.

Compulsory Retirement Pension

A Government servant compulsorily retired from service as a penalty may be granted, by the authority competent to impose such penalty, pension or gratuity, or both at a rate not less than  two-thirds and not more than full compensation pension or gratuity, or both admissible to him on the date of his compulsory retirement.The pension granted or allowed shall not be less than Rs. 9,000/- p.m. 

Compassionate Allowance

(i) A Government servant who is dismissed or removed from service shall forfeit his pension and gratuity: Provided that the authority competent to dismiss or remove him from service may, if the case is deserving of special consideration, sanction a compassionate allowance not exceeding two-thirds of pension or gratuity or both which would have been admissible to him if he had retired on compensation pension.

(ii) A compassionate allowance sanctioned under the proviso to sub-rule (i) shall not be less than Rs. 9,000/- p.m.

Extraordinary Pension

Extraordinary Pension in the form of Disability pension/extraordinary family pension may be paid to the Government servant/his family if disablement/death (or the aggravation of disablement/death)of the Government servant, during his service, are attributed to the Government service. For the award of extraordinary pension, there should thus be a casual connection between disablement and Government service; and death and Government service, for attributability or aggravation to be conceded. The quantum of the pension, however,depends upon the category of the disablement/death.
Government servants appointed on or after 1.1.2010 are not covered by the CCS(Extraordinary Pension) Rules.

Family Pension

Family pension is granted to the widow / widower and where there is no widow / widower to the children of a Government servant who entered in service in a pensionable establishment on or after 01/01/1964 but on or before 01.01.2010 or having entered service prior to that date came to be governed by the provisions of the Family Pension Scheme for Central Government Employees, 1964 if such a Government servant-

(i) dies while in service on or after 01/01/1964 or 

(ii) retired/died before 31.12.1963 or 

(iii) retires on or after 01/01/1964

and at the time of his death was in receipt of pension. 

Family pension is payable to the children up to 25 years of their age, or marriage or till they start earning a monthly income exceeding Rs. 9,000/- +  DA admissible from time to time p.m. whichever is earlier. 

Family pension is payable to wholly dependent parents of the deceased Government servants w.e.f. 01/01/98, when he/she is not survived by a widow or eligible child. The family pension will be payable to mother first , failing which to the father.

If the son or daughter, of a Government servant is suffering from any disorder or disability of mind or is physically crippled or disabled so as to render him or her unable to earn a living even after attaining the age of 25 years, the family pension can continue to be paid for life time subject to  conditions.