List of Central Autonomous Bodies under different Department/Minisrty:

Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY)

  • Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI)

  • Bhaskaracharya National Institute for Space Applications and Geo-informatics(BISAG-N)

  • Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC)

  • Centre for Materials for Electronics Technology (C-MET)

  • Education & Research in Computer Networking(ERNET)

  • National Institute of Electronics and Information Technology (NIELIT - Formerly DOEACC Society)

  • Society for Applied Microwave Electronics Engineering and Research (SAMEER)

  • Software Technology Parks of India (STPI)


Department of Telecommunications (DoT)

  • Centre for Development of Telematics (C-DoT)

  • Telecom Regulatory authority of India (TRAI)


Department of Economic Affairs (DEA)

  • Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI)

  • International financial Services Centres Authority (IFSCA)

  • Arun Jaitley National Institute of Financial Management (AJNIFM)




  1. Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) :

SEBI is a statutory regulatory body established on 12 April 1992 with an objective of monitoring and regulating the Indian capital and securities market while ensuring to protect the interests of the investors, formulating regulations and guidelines.

The basic functions of SEBI are:

a. The regulation of the stock exchange and capital market.

b. Prohibition of fraudulent and unfair trade.

c. Improving education and training of intermediaries of the securities market.

d. Promoting investors and registering intermediaries.

e. Regulating substantial acquisition of shares and takeovers of companies


  1. Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) :

Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) was established with effect from 20 February 1997 by an Act of the Parliament to regulate telecom services including fixing / revision of tariffs for telecom services which was earlier vested in the Central Government. The main objective of TRAI is to provide an environment, which is fair and transparent, encourages competition, promotes a level-playing field for all service providers, protects the interest of consumers and enables outreach of technological benefits to one and all. Under the Act, TRAI is mandated to:

  1. ensure compliance of the terms and conditions of telecom licenses;
  2. lay down the standards of quality of service to be provided by the service providers and ensure the quality of service;
  3. specify tariff policy and recommend conditions for entry of new service providers as well as terms and conditions of license to a service provider;
  4. considerations and decisions on issues relating to monitoring of tariff policy, commercial and technical aspects of interconnection;
  5. principles of call routing and call handover;
  6. free choice and equal ease of access for the public to different service providers;
  7. resolution of conflicts that may arise due to market developments and diverse network structures for various telecom services;
  8. need for up-gradation of the existing network and systems; and
  9. development of forums for interaction amongst service providers and interaction of the Authority with consumer organisations.

TRAI also makes recommendations either suo‑motu or on a reference from the licensor i.e. DoT, MoC or Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (I&B) in the case of Broadcasting and Cable Services and the Telecom Service Providers.  It publishes consultation papers on the related subjects for discussion with the stakeholders before issuing directions to them.


  1. Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI)

The Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) is a statutory authority established under the provisions of the Aadhaar (Targeted Delivery of Financial and Other Subsidies, Benefits and Services) Act, 2016 (“Aadhaar Act 2016”) on 12 July 2016 by the Government of India, under MeitY.

Prior to its establishment as a statutory authority, UIDAI was functioning as an attached office of the then Planning Commission (now NITI Aayog) vide its Gazette Notification dated 28 January 2009. Later, on 12 September 2015, the Government revised the Allocation of Business Rules to attach the UIDAI to the Department of Electronics & Information Technology (DeitY) of the then Ministry of Communications and Information Technology.

UIDAI was created with the objective of issuing Unique Identification numbers (UID), a unique identity named as "Aadhaar", to all residents of India that is (a) robust enough to eliminate duplicate and fake identities, and (b) can be verified and authenticated in an easy, cost‑effective way.

The Mission to the UIDAI is to:

  • To provide for good governance, efficient, transparent and targeted delivery of subsidies, benefits and services, the expenditure for which is incurred from the Consolidated Fund of India or the Consolidated Fund of State to residents of India through assigning of unique identity numbers.
  • To develop policy, procedure and system for issuing Aadhaar number to residents of India, who request for same by submitting their demographic information and biometric information by undergoing the process of enrolment.
  • To develop policy, procedure and systems for Aadhaar holders for updating and authenticating their digital identity.
  • Ensure availability, scalability and resilience of the technology infrastructure.
  • Build a long term sustainable organization to carry forward the vision and values of the UIDAI.
  • To ensure security and confidentiality of identity information and authentication records of individuals.
  • To ensure compliance of Aadhaar Act by all individual and agencies in letter and spirit.
  • To make regulations & rules consistent with the Aadhaar Act, for carrying out the provisions of the Aadhaar Act.
  1. International Financial Services Centres Authority (IFSCA) :


The International Financial Services Centres Authority (IFSCA) was set up by the Government of India on April 27, 2020, as a unified financial regulator under the International Financial Services Centres Authority Act, 2019. It is headquartered at Gujarat International Finance Tec‐City (GIFT City), Gandhinagar in Gujarat.


Goals & Objectives :

1. To facilitate the development of a strong base of international financial services in the country

2. To promote International Financial Services Centres as a dominant gateway for international capital flows into and out of India

3. To emerge as a regional and global hub for international financial services

4. To provide a state‐of‐the‐art unified regulatory framework, with robust regulation and supervisory technology aligned with international best practices

5. To develop a strong global connect with leading international financial jurisdictions

Back to Top