GLOSSARY

AE Assistant Engineer

AMC Anantapur Municipal Corporation

AMR-APARD Alimineti Madhava Reddy Andhra Pradesh Academy for

Rural Development

APDPC Act Andhra Pradesh District Planning Committee Act

APPCB Andhra Pradesh Pollution Control Board

APPR Act Andhra Pradesh Panchayat Raj Act

APUFIDC Andhra Pradesh Urban Finance and Infrastructure

Development Corporation Limited

APURMSP Andhra Pradesh Urban Reforms and Municipal Services

Project

APUSP Andhra Pradesh Urban Services for Poor

BRGF Backward Region Grant Fund

BSUP Basic Services to the Urban Poor

CAO Chief Accounts Officer
CC roads Cement Concrete roads

CDMA Commissioner & Director of Municipal Administration

CEO Chief Executive Officer

CFC Central Finance Commission

CPO Chief Planning Officer

CPR&RE Commissioner Panchayat Raj & Rural Employment

CPWS Comprehensive Protected Water Supply

CSS Centrally Sponsored Schemes

DCB Demand Collection and Balance

DDOs Drawing and Disbursing Officers

DFO District Forest Officer

DLC District Level Committee

DME Director of Medical Education

DPC District Planning Committee

DRDA District Rural Development Agency

DWMA District Water Management Agency

DWS&SM District Water Supply and Sanitation Mission

EFC Eleventh Finance Commission

EFS&T Environment, Forests, Science and Technology

ELSR Elevated long service reservoir

FDs Fixed deposits

FTO Fund Transfer Orders

GoAP Government Andhra Pradesh

GoI Government of India

GPs Gram Panchayats

HBA House Building Advance

HDPE High density polyethylene

HMC Hyderabad Municipal Corporation

HMF&W Health, Medical and Family Welfare

HOD Head of Department

HUDCO Housing and Urban Development Corporation Ltd

IDSMT Integrate Development of Small and Medium Towns

IHSDP Integrated Housing and Slum Development Programme

INDIRAMMA Integrated Novel Development in Rural and Model Municipal

Areas

ISL Individual Sanitary Latrines

JNNURM Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission

LD Liquidated damages

MA&UD Municipal Administration and Urban Development

MIS Management Information system

MLD Million litres per day

MoPR Ministry of Panchayat Raj

MPDO Mandal Parishad Development Officer

MPLADS Member of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme

MPPs Mandal Praja Parishads

NFFWP National Food for Work Programme

NIC National Informatic centre

NIRD National Institute of Rural Development

PABR Penna Ahobillum Balancing Reservoir

PD Personal Deposit

PPO Pension Payment Order

PR Panchayat Raj

PR&RD Panchayat Raj and Rural Development
PREDs Panchayat Raj Engineering Divisions

PRIA soft Panchayat Raj Institution Accounting Software

PRIs Panchayat Raj Institutions

PT Property tax

PWS Protected Water Supply
RBI Reserve Bank of India

RD Rural Development

RR Act Revenue Recovery Act

RWHP Rain Water Harvesting Pits

RWS Rural Water Supply

SC Scheduled Caste

SFC State Finance Commission

SGRY Sampoorna Grameena Rozgar Yojana

SJSRY Swarna Jayanti Shahari Rozgar Yojana

SLB Service Level Benchmarking

ST Scheduled Tribe

STEP-UP Skill Training for Employment Promotion amongst Urban

Poor

SWM Solid Waste Management

TAGs Technical Advisory Groups

TFC Twelfth Finance Commission

TGS Technical Guidance and Supervision

TSC Total Sanitation Campaign

UC Utilisation Certificate

UIDSSMT Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Small and

Medium Towns

UIG Urban Infrastructure and Governance

ULBs Urban Local Bodies

UNESCO United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural

Urban Women Self-help Programme

Organisation

USEP Urban Self Employment Programme

UWEP Urban Wage Employment Programme

W&CW Women and Child welfare

ZGS Zilla Grandhalaya Samstha

ZPPs Zilla Praja Parishads

UWSP

ZPTC Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituencies